180 gr. LPX2 Gatefold Limited Vinyl - Last copies!

 Fraternity were an Australian rock band formed in Sydney, 1970. Formerly four members of the Levi Smith’s Clefs, John Bisset on keyboards, Tony Buettel on drums, Bruce Howe on bass guitar and vocals, and Mick Jurd on lead guitar. Due to conflict at the time with their front-man, Barry McAskill, the group abandoned him and relocated to Adelaide in 1971 to restart their career as Fraternity on the Sweet Peach label. Fraternity’s debut release was a cover of The Moody Blues track “Question” backed with an Ashdown/Stewart song “Why Did It Have To Be Me?”. While the band had competent recording vocals, they were lacking a definitive front-man. Bon Scott at the time was performing with a group called The Valentines. The band liked his raw energy and felt that he would be a good addition to the band. After some persuasion, Bon agreed to relocate and joined them as lead singer. The band’s biggest local hit was a cover of Blackfeather’s “Seasons of Change” which peaked at No.1 in Adelaide. In 1971, Fraternity went on to win the Hoadley’s Battle of the Sounds. Bon Scott’s previous band, The Valentines, had been a finalist in this competition two years earlier. Fraternity were now being touted as “The Next Big Band” and the competition prize was a free trip to London. However, this trip would go on to be the end of Fraternity as we know it.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email